Motorola RAZR V3 USB File Transfer + Ringtones with Ubuntu Linux

May 18, 2006

Transfer ringtones created in Audacity to a Motorola Razr in Linux using moto4lin. This article will outline how to get moto4lin on an Ubuntu Breezy system and transfer files to the Motorola RAZR v3 using a mini-usb cable.

I had to compile moto4lin, an alpha motorola filesystem viewer, to transfer files through USB.

Install the compiler, development libraries, and download the required files (moto4lin and p2k):

$ sudo aptitude install g++ libusb-dev libqt3-headers

$ wget http://easynews.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/moto4lin/moto4lin-0.3.tar.bz2
$ wget http://easynews.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/moto4lin/p2kmoto-0.1-rc1.tar.gz
$ tar zxvfj moto4lin-0.3.tar.bz2
$ tar zxvf p2kmoto-0.1-rc1.tar.gz

Compile and install p2kmoto and moto4lin. I like to compile using my home directory as the prefix so when my OS goes haywire I can recover the files I've custom compiled.:

$ cd p2kmoto-0.1
$ ./configure --prefix=$HOME/local && make && make install
$ cd moto4lin-0.3
$ ./configure --prefix=$HOME/local && make && make install

Now plug up your phone and execute moto4lin as root (make sure ~/local/bin is in your PATH). You should be able to click the Connect/Disconnect button. At this point the filesystem should be available.

Ringtones

Next the ringtones have to be created. The Motorola RAZR V3 happens to support mp3 ringtones, however they have to fit the following criteria in order to work properly:

File Type Sampling Frequency Bit Depth Mono/Stereo Bit-rate (kbps)
MP3 44.1kHz 16 Mono 64
MP3 24kHz 16 Stereo 40
MP3 24kHz 16 Mono 40
MP3 16kHz 16 Stereo 40
MP3 16kHz 16 Mono 32

That will make more sense once we install audacity and start a new project. We'll also need the lame mp3 encoding library later, so we can go ahead and download and compile that too.

$ sudo aptitude install audacity
$ wget http://easynews.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/lame/lame-3.97b2.tar.gz
$ tar zxvf lame-3.97b2.tar.gz
$ cd lame-3.97
$ ./configure --prefix=$HOME/local && make && make install

Now run audacity. Select a project rate of 44100Hz (at the bottom) and click "New Audio Track" in the "Project" menu. This is where you'll paste your sound clip. In the same window, open your the WAV file of that mp3 you're itching to hear on your phone. I used the audacity Trim function in the Edit menu to get the part of the track I wanted to be a ringtone. Then hit CTRL-A to select all of the track and CTRL-C to copy it. Then click back over to your empty audio track and hit CTRL-V to paste the audio into your Mono 44.1kHz track. Now we have to set the proper MP3 encoding bittrate. Choose Preferences from the File menu and "40" as the bittrate. Now, click "Export as MP3" from the File menu. Audacity will prompt you to tell it where your lame mp3 encoding library is. Point to the appropriate file, hit Ok and the export MP3 window should be available. Tell audacity where to save the file and voila, you've made an MP3 Ringtone.

Almost there. Now if your phone is still hooked up, go to moto4lin, connect to your phone, and click on the "audio" directory within the mobile's filesystem. Click upload, then select the ringtone. Next, delete the two Motorola database files "MyToneDB.db" and "TempToneDB.db" from the audio directory. I'm not exactly sure what these files do, but I do know that they will not allow you to "Attach as Ringtone" or allow you to select your MP3 from the "Calls" menu within the RAZR. Hold down the red disconnect button to turn off the phone, then turn it back on.

At this point, make sure the phone is not set to Silent or Vibrate. Go to Audio from your "My Stuff" icon and select your ringtone. Then hit menu (dot) button above the select pad to bring up the menu options. Select "Apply as Ringtone." Finally, ask someone to call you.

Thats it. Homebrew ringtones on the Motorola RAZR V3.



84 Responses to “Motorola RAZR V3 USB File Transfer + Ringtones with Ubuntu Linux”

  1. Cheryse Says:

    I’ve downloaded both files, but how do I compile them?

  2. veinhammer Says:

    You’ll need the ubuntu gcc compiler. Do:

    sudo aptitude install build-essential
    sudo aptitude install manpages-dev autoconf automake libtool
    sudo aptitude install gcc-doc g++

  3. Kit Says:

    I have a Motorola V3 Razr; I have uploaded the file and can see it in Moto4Lin but cannot find it in the phone itself. I haven’t done any flashing or flexing, although my understanding is that’s not necessary. Any ideas?

  4. veinhammer Says:

    You’ll have to delete the “MyToneDB.db” and “TempToneDB.db” files for the uploaded music files to appear.

  5. onokiyo Says:

    Hi,
    After I fired up moto4lin, in the status pane, it shows this:

    [info] Phone pluged as AT
    Try to connect
    [error] Unable to connect

    Would you help me with this?

    Thank you

    O

  6. diibo Says:

    bro, i got the same shit. ive been trying to get this crap to work all day! These fucks at motorola forgot to include a stupid installation cd with something to tranfer files. They made a really good phone though.

  7. veinhammer Says:

    Try checking the logs (dmesg) to get a better idea of whats going on when you plug/unplug the phone. You might need to read my other article (http://veinhammer.wordpress.com/2006/05/08/kmobiletools-in-ubuntu-linux/) on creating the usbserial device node. Let me know what ends up happening.

  8. Fred Says:

    My razr showed up as /dev/ttyACM0 instead of as /dev/usb/acm/0 like moto4lin was expecting. moto4lin didn’t seem to accept me changing the path in the settings screen, so I just made the path it was expecting link to the real path.

    try this:

    sudo mkdir -p /dev/usb/acm
    sudo ln -s /dev/ttyACM0 /dev/usb/acm/0

  9. Gumby Says:

    Ubuntu would show the phone being connected in ‘dmesg’, however moto4lin could not see it.

    To fix this, you need to update your udev rules. Add the following line to your rules file like this:

    sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/10-udev.rules

    Then add the line:

    # Motorola Razor V3
    BUS=”usb”, SYSFS{product}=”Motorola Phone (V3)”, KERNEL=”ttyACM0″, SYMLINK=”usb/acm/0″

    Save the file. Disconnect the USB cable and reconnect it to the phone. Then press Connect/Disconnect from within moto4lin. This time it should see your phone.

  10. Refah Says:

    For those of us whose phones show as ttyACM0 (I’m looking at you Fred) you can set the ACM device path in moto4lin v0.3 to the correct path, /dev/ttyACM0. Note, that in Fred’s solution, the ‘o’ should really be a zero, or ‘0’.

  11. Don Says:

    I’ve successfully compiled both moto4lin and p2kmoto, but have had no luck so far with my pebl u6. I’m not even sure it’s supported.

    In moto4lin, I’ve changed the settings to /dev/ttyACM0 (which my computer does recognise when it is plugged in) but when I click connect it says “phone is busy. try again.” and then “unable to connect.”

    I followed your link and directions on setting up kmobiletools, and it successfully read my phone, accessed the phone book and SMS, and as much fun as that is, it doesn’t help me connect with moto4lin.

    So I’m not sure where to go from here, if I can even go anywhere as it is. Has anyone ever gotten a pebl to work yet?

  12. Don Says:

    It would seem as restarting your computer is an important step. After rebooting, I ran p2ktest and it found my PEBL U6 and successfully switched to p2k mode. Then I ran moto4lin (both as sudo) and changed the numbers to reflect it being p2k and connected.

  13. veinhammer Says:

    Instead of rebooting the machine, you might try unloading the usb & serial modules and loading them again. At this time I can’t think of any easy way to do this other than modprobe -r modulename, which could be made into a shell script. I’m glad to hear this method works with the PEBL; thanks for the info.

  14. rage Says:

    sajdaAS

  15. jamir Says:

    hi…..1 month back i brought a new moto razor v3….. as u know it does not have much of memeory.so can u plz tell me is it possible to delete the inbuilt tone as they are of no use and takes up lots of space…. if possible do let me know how to do it.. it will be very much of help from u.thank u

  16. Nick Says:

    I’m stuck….

    I’m able to upload an mp3 to my phone, I can see the mp3 on the moto4lin, however, if I look under “My Stuff” -> Sounds, the mp3 does not show up.

    I deleted “MyToneDB.db” and “TempToneDB.db” from the audio directory and power-cycled my razor.

    TIA!

  17. veinhammer Says:

    Isn’t there a “Hidden” attribute you can set with moto4lin? You might need to check if that attribute is disabled on your file.

    If you have access to a PC with Bluetooth, I believe you can transfer MP3’s to the RAZR using OBEX Bluetooth file transfer as well.

    I don’t remember having issues viewing the mp3’s after I deleted the .db files and uploaded the audio. It may have something to do with the file size, possibly.

  18. THE PROFIT Says:

    Great application… you can also use Motorola’s Phone Tools 4.0. Im sure all of you smart e-surfers out there can find your way to it. *coughs* isohunt dot com

    – c4 Ripping Group –
    999,999,999 already served.

  19. veinhammer Says:

    Except that MobileTools is a commercial Windows application that you have to pay for. The open source method allows for experimentation as well as keeping things legal and inexpensive.

  20. Robert W Says:

    Hey Listen guys, I’m not using Linux but when I was transfering MP3s I had a problem where my phone wasn’t being recognised by my computer. When I tried to acess the phone, I would get a read error or something. What you have to do is start up your V3 and change the ringtone to something the phone has. Once you have done that, you should be able to connect as normal.

    If anyone needs help, you can contact me on Robertwave@gmail.com

  21. Jay Turpin Says:

    If your having problems connecting as P2K, try this recommendation found on http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=1914598:

    Try putting in a bogus number in the Settings –> Preferences –> AT Product ID. Something like 1234.

    That did the trick for me.

    Also, you need to fix the installation instructions to this:

    sudo aptitude install g++ libusb-dev libqt3-headers
    wget http://easynews.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/moto4lin/moto4lin-0.3.tar.bz2
    wget http://easynews.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/moto4lin/p2kmoto-0.1-rc1.tar.gz
    tar jxvf moto4lin-0.3.tar.bz2
    tar zxvf p2kmoto-0.1-rc1.tar.gz

    #Compile and install p2kmoto
    cd p2kmoto-0.1
    sudo ./configure –prefix=/usr/local && make && make install

    #Compile and install moto4lin
    cd ../moto4lin-0.3
    qmake && make
    sudo make install

    That fixed a couple of the problem I encountered on a fresh Edgy installation

  22. JC-Panda Says:

    This looks awesome!!! WHY is it, that I always find stuff like this 5 minutes before I have to leave and go do something?!?

    I’ll play with it this afternoon and let you know!!!

  23. kd4pba Says:

    While it is for Fedora Core, this site provides some useful insite and some helpful info on moto4lin.

    http://www.linuxslate.org/Guide_moto4lin.html

  24. GIFRATE Says:

    Thank you for the tip. I have a motorola L2 and I had to delete the 2 .db files in the a\audio folder in order to hav e my ringtone working.


  25. […] Motorola RAZR V3 USB File Transfer + Ringtones with Ubuntu Linux « Veinhammer Transfer ringtones created in Audacity to a Motorola Razr in Linux using moto4lin. This article will outline how to get moto4lin on an Ubuntu Breezy system and transfer files to the Motorola RAZR v3 using a mini-usb cable. (tags: linux razr motorola ubuntu howto) […]

  26. Luis M. Says:

    want ring tones

  27. HotLaMon Says:

    You can also just send the ringtones to your phone through email… I use audacity then just email it from gmail to my email address with T-Mobile (blahblah@tmomail.net)

  28. veinhammer Says:

    Is there a cost associated with the size of the message?

    This is probably the easiest method to transfer tones. I appreciate the tip!

  29. mr p.r. Says:

    After the ringtone surgery with Audacity, I deleted “MyToneDB.db” and “TempToneDB.db” from the a:\audio directory and power-cycled my v195. (if you don’t power-cycle it will appear the tones db is lost forever.. gasp!) ahh.. the soothing tones of Cartman greet me upon every call.

  30. Morphic Says:

    Excellent howto. Thanks for posting this – it saved me hours of digging through this process on my own!

  31. Morphic Says:

    Also wanted to mention that moto4lin can now be installed via aptitude or apt-get. I’m running Feisty:

    > sudo aptitude install moto4lin

    Package: moto4lin
    New: yes
    State: installed
    Automatically installed: no
    Version: 0.3+svn20060819-1
    Priority: optional
    Section: universe/comm
    Maintainer: Ubuntu MOTU Developers
    Uncompressed Size: 496k
    Depends: libc6 (>= 2.5-0ubuntu1), libgcc1 (>= 1:4.1.1-17ubuntu1), libqt3-mt (>=
    3:3.3.6), libstdc++6 (>= 4.1.1-17ubuntu1), libusb-0.1-4 (>= 2:0.1.12),
    libx11-6, libxext6, zlib1g (>= 1:1.2.1)
    Description: file manager and seem editor for Motorola phones (like C380/C650)
    This application allow to upload/download files from Motorola P2k Phones,
    upload/download seem records, doing seem backup, and editing seem using simple
    hex editor.

  32. matt Says:

    ok, so my razr v3 works fine on kmobiletools but moto4lin is great because it allows you to transfer files to the phone (which kmobile tools does not). I have tried all the steps above and moto4lin still doesn’t recognize my phone.
    I installed it with apt-get and i’m using ubuntu fiesty.

    -cheers!

  33. D_ray Says:

    Help! I upgraded from Dapper to fiesty,moto4lin worked fine with Dapper but now upgraded to fiesty moto4lin cose not see my razr v3 as p2k and i tried every suggestio and still no go. NOW WHAT!……frustrated .

  34. Vt_Cat Says:

    Hi all,

    I’m running Feisty, and moto4lin gives me the following upon connecting the Razr V3m

    “[info] Phone pluged as P2K
    Try to connect
    [info] Phone connected as P2K
    [error] Unable to get phone model
    [error] Unable to get drive name
    [error] Unable to get file count
    [error] Unable to get drive name”

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  35. Wobe Says:

    I’m having the same issue as Vt_Cat, a fix would be awesome

  36. Jeff Says:

    When I try to run
    tar zxvfj moto4lin-0.3.tar.bz2
    I get
    tar: Conflicting compression options

  37. John Says:

    I have the mp3 file I want on my phone. I can see it and play it in tunes and tones. But I cannot set it as a ringtone. The only option it gives me is to erase it. I’ve never been able to find the MytoneDB.db file to delete it. Where is that?

  38. John Says:

    * correction: The only option it gives me is to Rename the file.

  39. John Says:

    …hmmm. I was using Datapilot ringtones & tunes. Got the mp3 on my phone just fine, but no option to set as a ringtone. If I change the file extention, datapilot won’t recognize it as a file to transfer to the phone. Only mp3s and midis

  40. Bob Says:

    To read the Moto PEBL on ubuntu 7.10 64bit this is what I did.

    sudo apt-get install moto4lin

    sudo moto4lin

    Settings->Preferences

    ACMDEVICE: /dev/ttyACM0 (that is zero not letter o)
    ATVendorID: 22b8
    ATProductID: 4902
    P2KVendorID: 22b8
    P2KProductID: 4901

    auto connect true

    Press switch to P2K button

    The status box changed to:

    [info] Phone pluged as P2K
    Try to connect
    [info] Phone connected as P2K

    Then clicked update list to read files.


  41. Many thanks Bob! That worked. I can now transfer files from the phone (although sometimes I get random timeouts etc. – no big deal).


  42. Bob, did you have any success tranfering Java applications over to the PEBL? If yes, how did you do it?
    I go to the “Kjava” menu, click “add”, files seem to get tranferred, but they applications do not seem to be available to the phone. If I disconnect and connect again, in the KJava menu the list is empty…

  43. John Says:

    /shrug

  44. Zander Says:

    I’m with Kit & Nick on this one. Uploaded mp3 file okay and deleted db files. All looks okay in moto4lin but can’t find on phone.


  45. […] Linux reviews ^^ Motorola RAZR V3 USB File Transfer + Ringtones with Ubuntu Linux Veinhammer ? […]

  46. John Says:

    Thanks for all your input everyone! I got it figured out. I just needed to updated the software on data pilot. Once I did that I was able to set my mp3s as ringtones.


  47. Hi, I just tried to use your amazing tool (on Fedora 7 through rpm installation).
    I reached to connect and upload the mp3 ringtone on a RAZR v3i (and delete the two db files as you told).
    But in spite of this I can’t see any new file under the “sounds” menu even after a restart. It seems that db files are recreated after the phone restart, and it seems that they keep the same size.
    – Is case of the mp3 file name important ?
    – If mp3 encode frequency is not exactly as you told, may mp3 file not appear in menu ?

    Sorry for my english and thank you for any help…

  48. raye Says:

    Thanks bob. I, too, had been wrestling with this until your advice came alone. Works like a charm :)

  49. Ringtones Says:

    124ringtones.com, Here you can download all type of latest and old ringtones for your cell phones, at Free of cost.

  50. samir Says:

    I want to use motorola pebl u6 mobile on linux as a modem.Now how can i find such pacage to instal in linux and use internet as like as windows. plz help me.

  51. Amee Says:

    How can I remove the supplied ring-tones, sounds and pictures to make room for my ring-tones? I am new to the Razr V3 and there does not appear tobe away of removing the supplied junk.


  52. […] Per fortuna moto4lin si trova nei repository (dovete abilitarli tutti da synaptic o da /etc/apt/source.lst) e quindi: sudo apt-get install moto4lin A questo punto le varie guide sono un po’ in contrasto sull’uso o meno di un altro software che è p2kmoto. In teoria questo programma dovrebbe essere necessario perché serve per connettersi in modalità pk ovvero quella che ci serve per accedere al file system. Molte guide però non ne parlano nemmeno e sinceramente non ho capito se serve davvero o no. Io l’ho installato e riporto le operazioni da fare, anche perché purtroppo non c’è un pacchetto deb nei repository, ma va compilato a mano. La guida che ho seguito è in inglese e la trovate qui. […]

  53. shuste73 Says:

    Just an FYI for anyone reading this, I have an older V3C and I had to MANUALLY edit my moto4linrc file, which, strangely, was in ~/.qt

    Change the AT product ID to a bogus number like 2222 or 1234, fire up sudo moto4lin, and it will finally see the phone.

    HOWEVER, it won’t do anything with it, as it doesn’t find anything that’s on it. But this is my phone – other people might find that moto4linrc is their solution, so I’m posting this message.

  54. kenboo Says:

    worked great. thanks! Now moto4lin is in the Ubuntu package. So it’s a matter of apt-get. For readers of the blog, although p2k hasn’t been packaged I didn’t use it. My cell pone, RAZR V3, got switched to p2k by echo AT+MODE=8>/dev/ttyACM0
    of course it depends on the cell phones :-)

  55. addux Says:

    Thanks for the tutorial, I had a bit of trouble with the command line usage but kde’s kdebluetoothd was easy for me to use. Thanks again

  56. chetan Says:

    what side downloded motoroker thems

  57. bhasu Says:

    hi everyone….i ve prob with configuring my moto v3i as a modem to use internet in ubuntu 7.10…i tried using wvdial …its detecting ,checkin for carriers..but not able to get the ip from the server….can ny one guide me in this process…….

  58. Megamustache Says:

    Ok guys,
    I’m running Gutsy but I started at the top of this page (after hours tracking down other possibilities). Never did get a good compile, too many no’s and unavailables.
    I did the get-apt referenced Sep 3, 07, followed the directions and now my V3 (G?) is recognized but….

    OMG. Took the battery out to see which version I have and after turning it back on it works. At least the files are being read. Hot dog guys, you don’t know how good if feels after wasting six hours on this I’m absolutely ecstatic. I can skip the mood meds tonight!!!! Woo Hoo!!!!

    Thanks guys, you just got another quarter inch added to your karma pools.

  59. leasha0505 Says:

    i have motorola phone tools and have cropped songs to my phone and its then put them to my “sounds” file on my phone but i cant access them as ringtones. im stumped. do you know a way to get them as ringtones and not just sounds on the razor?

  60. Anonymous Coward Says:

    Works for me. Awesome!

    It’s probably a good idea to back up MyToneDB.db and TempToneDB.db in case you need them later. In moto4lin, select each file from the pane on the left, then click the “Download” button at the bottom.

    As other posters have alluded to, you may need to ‘sudo moto4lin’ (so you have permission to see the USB device).

  61. lfradette Says:

    have the motorola phone tools package but cannot get my phone connected to it. Help

  62. Len Says:

    I’ve been hoping to transfer my address book to/from the phone, but I can’t recognize the entries when I browse the phone file system and have no idea how to proceed.

    Can someone give me a pointer? Thanks.

  63. USB 2k Says:

    Great Post – it works great on my phone :-) New Ringtones are nice :-)


  64. love u all for this post. thanks for allowing comments here – good luck buddy

  65. Leaf Says:

    @Len: I’m not sure how to do it under Linux, but there’s a good guide on backing up an address book on hacktherazr.com.

    Thanks for the great post, the specifications for the ringtone (bitrates, etc.) solved the problem I was having.

  66. joe Says:

    cant transer music to my ringtones

  67. joe Says:

    i know people that has done it but i cant seem to get mine to do it,,,can some1 help me please

  68. usb Says:

    Nice how to! Thanks!

  69. Gary Says:

    Nice tutorial… Works for my v220. Managed to figure it all out myself apart from deleting the MyToneDB/TempToneDB files, and was wondering why the file wasn’t being set as a ringtone properly. So Google sent me here :)

    I also had to deselect the Hidden attribute of the file after uploading it (in the Attributes box on the left column of moto4lin, uncheck Hidden and click Change), so it would show up in the menus.

  70. taraksias Says:

    hey guys visit this thread!

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=56253

    it worked for me and im using a Motorola RAZR V3! you can also delete locked files without having any problems with the phone!!!!!
    :D

  71. Dennis Says:

    On My V3 there were 2 directories when connected.. an “A” and a “C”.. both had Audio directories.. and of course I downloaded my MP3 to the “A” and it didn’t see it on the phone.. once placed into “C”‘s audio.. good to go.

  72. Archie Says:

    I have a Verizon V3m, I’m running Xandrous Destop 4.1 (home edition)and moto4lin Ver0.03. I tried usb serial because moto4lin would not connect. iteed the steps listed on this wiki http://moto4lin.sourceforge.net/wiki/Razr_V3m and here is what I got.

    XANDNTBK:/# modprobe usbserial vendor=0x22b8 product=0x2a62
    XANDNTBK:/# dmesg | tail
    usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 19
    PM: Adding info for usb:1-1
    PM: Adding info for No Bus:usbdev1.19_ep00
    usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    PM: Adding info for usb:1-1:1.0
    cdc_acm 1-1:1.0: ttyACM0: USB ACM device
    PM: Adding info for No Bus:usbdev1.19_ep81
    PM: Adding info for usb:1-1:1.1
    PM: Adding info for No Bus:usbdev1.19_ep82
    PM: Adding info for No Bus:usbdev1.19_ep02

    it’s like the phone is locked out somehow. has anyone gottten this app to work on a debian distro?

  73. FaTMollY Says:

    At me such question
    I can not change the menu in Windows, it looks on new why that….
    Help to adjust… At me of a Window 98

  74. heiste Says:

    thanks a lot. I finally got it to work. The link to /dev/usb/acm/0 was missing and the phone was connected but not to see. After writing 10-udev.rules the phone was completely working.


  75. I have a friend who’s having problems connecting his RAZR V3 to Linux. I think your solution will help him. Thanks for the information. I’m sure he will try it out.

  76. samuel Says:

    NcEfyS odfBxZakGhH3v96M2Qsk

  77. Sarah Says:

    Thanks so much for this. =)
    Works great on my phone, though I didn’t read “Hold down the red disconnect button to turn off the phone, then turn it back on.” the first time and was freaking out for a good five minutes that I’d royally fucked my phone. =P
    Perfect once I DID restart it. <3
    Thanks again!!

    • veinhammer Says:

      No problem. I’m surprised these instructions still work considering I made this write up 3 years ago. I should make a new ringtone and update this tutorial.


  78. Yes kindly make a new ringtone and update this tutorial. This page is useful to ringtone enthusiast. Page bookmarked. Muchos gracias.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

